Walking in Two Worlds

Walking in Two Worlds by Wab Kinew

Walking in Two Worlds

  • Hardcover
  • Penguin Teen (2021)
  • SKU: 9780735269002
Regular price $17.99
/

An Indigenous teen girl is caught between two worlds, both real and virtual, in the YA fantasy debut from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series.

Bugz is caught between two worlds. In the real world, she's a shy and self-conscious Indigenous teen who faces the stresses of teenage angst and life on the Rez. But in the virtual world, her alter ego is not just confident but dominant in a massively multiplayer video game universe.

Feng is a teen boy who has been sent from China to live with his aunt, a doctor on the Rez, after his online activity suggests he may be developing extremist sympathies. Meeting each other in real life, as well as in the virtual world, Bugz and Feng immediately relate to each other as outsiders and as avid gamers. And as their connection is strengthened through their virtual adventures, they find that they have much in common in the real world, too: both must decide what to do in the face of temptations and pitfalls, and both must grapple with the impacts of family challenges and community trauma.

But betrayal threatens everything Bugz has built in the virtual world, as well as her relationships in the real world, and it will take all her newfound strength to restore her friendship with Feng and reconcile the parallel aspects of her life: the traditional and the mainstream, the east and the west, the real and the virtual.

#Notyourprincess: Voices of Native American Women by Lisa Charleyboy & Mary Beth Leatherdale (Editors)
#Notyourprincess: Voices of Native American Women
Lisa Charleyboy & Mary Beth Leatherdale
$12.95
(Re)Generation: The Poetry of Kateri Akiwenzie-Damm by Dallas Hunt
(Re)Generation: The Poetry of Kateri Akiwenzie-Damm
Kateri Akiwenzie-Damm
$18.99
10 Sitka Herring: Learn to Count by Pauline Duncan
10 Sitka Herring: Learn to Count
Pauline Duncan
$12.00
1491: New Revelations of the Americas Before Columbus by Charles C. Mann
1491: New Revelations of the Americas Before Columbus
Charles Mann
$18.00
1493 for Young People: From Columbus's Voyage to Globalization by Charles Mann
1493 for Young People: From Columbus's Voyage to Globalization
Charles Mann
$18.95
1493: Uncovering the New World Columbus Created by Charles Mann
1493: Uncovering the New World Columbus Created
Charles Mann
$18.95
Recently viewed