Shopping cart is empty.

Upcoming Events

Independent Bookstore Day Outdoor Market

Saturday & Sunday, April 24-25
11am-4pm (weather permitting)
Birchbark Books Sidewalk

Celebrate Independent Bookstore Day with Birchbark Books! We will be hosting an outdoor market from 11am-4pm on Saturday & Sunday, April 24 & 25 (weather permitting). Books, jewelry, wild rice, birchbark art and much more! Visitors are asked to wear masks and honor safe distance between themselves and others. Curbside pickup will also be available. IBD passports can be picked up and stamped curbside throughout the week of April 18-24 between 10am and 6pm. Visit the IBD passport page to learn how to participate.

The Future is Now

Wednesday, April 28th @ 5pm Central
(6pm Eastern, 4pm Mountain, 3pm Pacific)
Register here: The Future is Now

Please join us for a discussion on the intersection of artificial intelligence, technology, and power in science fiction with authors Naomi Kritzer (Catfishing on Catnet), J.S. Dewes (The Last Watch), Nnedi Okorafor (Remote Control), and Corey J. White (Repo Virtual). Charlie Jane Anders (Victories Greater Than Death) will moderate. Visit the Future is Now event page for details!

An Indian Among Los Indígenas with Ursula Pike

Friday, May 7th @ 7pm Central
(8pm Eastern, 6pm Mountain, 5pm Pacific)
Register here: Ursula Pike Event

Come celebrate author Ursula Pike's new memoir An Indian Among Los Indígenas with Birchbark Books! A book which "upends the canon of travel memoirs historically dominated by White writers," Pike explores what it means to be both colonizer and colonized. Pike will read a selection from the book, following a Q&A with Birchbark Booksellers.

Sound Like Trapped Thunder with Jessica Lind Peterson

Friday, May 21st @ 7pm Central
(8pm Eastern, 6pm Mountain, 5pm Pacific)
Join the event on Facebook

Birchbark Books will host Jessica Lind Peterson for a reading and discussion of her debut lyric essay collection, Sound Like Trapped Thunder, from Seneca Review Books. Angela Pelster will join Jessica in conversation, with an audience Q&A to follow. This event will take place on Facebook, and we hope to see you there!