Never Name the Dead by D. M. Rowell

Never Name the Dead

  • Hardcover
  • Crooked Lane Books (2022)
  • SKU: 9781639101276
Price
Regular price $28.99
Regular price Sale price $28.99
/

Old grudges, tribal traditions, and outside influences collide for a Kiowa woman as forces threaten her family, her tribe, and the land of her ancestors, in this own-voices debut perfect for fans of Winter Counts.

No one called her Mud in Silicon Valley. There, she was Mae, a high-powered professional who had left her Kiowa roots behind a decade ago. But a cryptic voice message from her grandfather, James Sawpole, telling her to come home sounds so wrong that she catches the next plane to Oklahoma. She never expected to be plunged into a web of theft, betrayal, and murder.

Mud discovers a tribe in disarray. Fracking is damaging their ancestral lands, Kiowa families are being forced to sell off their artifacts, and frackers have threatened to kill her grandfather over his water rights. When Mud and her cousin Denny discover her grandfather missing, accused of stealing the valuable Jefferson Peace medal from the tribe museum--and stumble across a body in his work room--Mud has no choice but to search for answers.

Mud sets out into the Wildlife Refuge, determined to clear her grandfather's name and identify the killer. But Mud has no idea that she's about to embark on a vision quest that will involve deceit, greed, and a charging buffalo--or that a murderer is on her trail.

More from D. M. Rowell
Never Name the Dead by D. M. Rowell
Never Name the Dead
D. M. Rowell
$28.99
You may also like
More from Fiction
The Sentence
The Sentence
Louise Erdrich
$30.99
The Night Watchman
The Night Watchman
Louise Erdrich
$18.00
Wandering Stars by Tommy Orange
Wandering Stars
Tommy Orange
$29.00
Warrior Girl Unearthed by Angeline Boulley
Warrior Girl Unearthed
Angeline Boulley
$19.99
The Mighty Red by Louise Erdrich
The Mighty Red
Louise Erdrich
$32.00
Recently viewed