Shopping cart is empty.
The Porcupine Year
  • Price: $7.99
  • Paperback
  • Shopping Basket
Pub Date: 2010
ISBN: 9780064410304
Louise Erdrich
The Porcupine Year
(click icon for large image)

The Porcupine Year

by Louise Erdrich

Signed by the author.

The 3rd book in The Birchbark House series.

Here follows the story of a most extraordinary year in the life of an Ojibwe family and of a girl named "Omakayas," or Little Frog, who lived a year of flight and adventure, pain and joy, in 1852.

When Omakayas is twelve winters old, she and her family set off on a harrowing journey. They travel by canoe westward from the shores of Lake Superior along the rivers of northern Minnesota, in search of a new home. While the family has prepared well, unexpected danger, enemies, and hardships will push them to the brink of survival. Omakayas continues to learn from the land and the spirits around her, and she discovers that no matter where she is, or how she is living, she has the one thing she needs to carry her through.

Beloved by children young and old, The Birchbark House series by Louise Erdrich consists of The Birchbark HouseThe Game of SilenceThe Porcupine YearChickadee, and Makoons (with more to come!)