Shopping cart is empty.
The Birchbark House
  • Price: $6.99
  • Paperback
  • Shopping Basket
Hyperion Books
Pub Date: 2002
ISBN: 9780786814541
Louise Erdrich
The Birchbark House
(click icon for large image)

The Birchbark House

by Louise Erdrich

Signed by the author.

The 1st book in The Birchbark House Series.

Omakayas and her family live on the land her people call the Island of the Golden-Breasted Woodpecker. Although the "chimookoman," white people, encroach more and more on their land, life continues much as it always has: every summer they build a new birchbark house; every fall they go to ricing camp to harvest and feast; they move to the cedar log house before the first snows arrive, and celebrate the end of the long, cold winters at maple-sugaring camp. In between, Omakayas fights with her annoying little brother, Pinch; plays with the adorable baby, Neewo; and tries to be grown-up like her big sister, Angeline. But the satisfying rhythms of their life are shattered when a visitor comes to their lodge one winter night, bringing with him an invisible enemy that will change things forever-- but that will eventually lead Omakayas to discover her calling.

By turns moving and humorous, this novel is a breathtaking tour de force by a gifted writer.

Beloved by children young and old, The Birchbark House series by Louise Erdrich consists of The Birchbark HouseThe Game of SilenceThe Porcupine YearChickadee, and Makoons (with more to come!)